Brain farts

I quit Twitter and Facebook. There’s still some waiting period before they actually delete my accounts after the deactivation, but I am done. That means no more instant, shoot-from-the-hip posts or reactions for me. No more immediate sharing of every brain fart I have. It means thinking about stuff before I publish it on my blog.

That one news item that I think is so import I have to immediately link to it with a tweet or a Facebook post? I cannot do that anymore. A quick comment on a news site via the Facebook integration-thingie that is running there? Nope. Participating in a discussion and losing all control over my contributions? No more. And the effect is that when something pops into my mind or if I see something that sparks my interest, I think about it, process it and only then maybe post something about it on my blog. More time, more thought, more meaning and value. At least, for me.

That is also something that has changed: I now write for me. Sorry people, I hope you like what you read on my blog if you read my blog, but first and foremost I now write for myself. As a way to process information, or leave a reminder or just some tips or instructions that I know I will want to come back to. It is of value for you also? Great! I am glad I could be of service.

Likes, retweets, responses, trying to work with the algorithm so my posts show up prominently enough on timelines, thinking about who will see it, what they will feel or think about what I post… and wait, who are ‘they’ anyway? Friends? Family? Colleagues? Acquaintances? Some stranger? – All that stuff is now gone and I concentrate on what is important to me.

That is I think how we can add more value to the content we put online. Quitting with that constant stream of instant data that has no or little insight put into it, to stop and think some more to try and make sense of it all.

2 gedachten over “Brain farts

  1. Samuel Driessen (@driessen)

    Interesting move, Twan. Curious what this will do for you. I’m not quitting FB and Tw (yet), but I’ve been thinking a bit about it as well, especially Facebook. It’s often such a distraction… Anyway, I’ll continue to read your blogposts. 🙂

    Like

    1. Twan van Elk Berichtauteur

      Hi Samuel, yes the biggest hassle is getting your data out and deleted. They’ve made that very difficult to say the least. Maybe something for another blog post. 😉

      Like

Geef een reactie

